Why does your hair get darker when it's wet?

When light hits wet hair, some of the light reflecting off the surface of the hair strikes the inside surface of the water film at the right angle to be reflected or refracted back onto the hair again. This creates a second chance for the light to be absorbed, making the hair appear darker.