Who holds the record for the fastest forty yard dash?

As of 2022, the fastest 40 yard dash officially recorded during the NFL Scouting Combine is by wide receiver John Ross in 2017 with a time of 4 point 22 seconds. Unofficial times as low as 4 point zero nine seconds have been noted but they are not considered the record.