What happens when a case goes to trial?

In a criminal trial, the state and the criminal defense attorney has an opportunity to make an opening argument, put on witnesses, cross-examine witnesses and make a closing argument. they may choose to have the perpetrator testify, but the jury is not allowed to hold it against them if they don't.