How did babylon fall?

In 539 BC, the legendary Persian king Cyrus the Great conquered Babylon at the Battle of Opis. Babylon's walls were impregnable and so the Persians cleverly devised a plan; whereby they diverted the course of the Euphrates River so that it fell to a manageable depth.