How are coffee beans roasted?

Coffee beans are dropped into loaders and then into a rotating drum which is pre-heated to a temperature of around 240 degrees. After 12-15 minutes depending on the type of roast, they will exit the drum at around 195 degrees, then taken out into a cooling tray at the front of the roaster.