When do you plant irises?

Plant irises in late summer to early fall, when nighttime temperatures remain between 40 and 50 °F or above. This gives them plenty of time to get established before the coming winter. The tall bearded iris varieties are best planted closer to fall because they go dormant in early to mid-summer.