What does self facing mean?

Self-facing is a method of sewing to apply facing fabric on the wrong side of the garment. This facing fabric will be applied to the edge and neckline before putting them together. The self-facing can then be folded and stitched into place and create a neat finish at the front neckline and armholes.

---

The term you may be referring to is self-effacing. This means to be humble or modest.