Why do people make knockoffs?

knockoffs or fakies are items of very low quality which are made to look like the original trademarked item. the reason people involve themselves in this illegal trade, is due to the high profit one can make from counterfeit goods. depending on the item, it can return up to 5x the cost to make it.