What's twelve man for life mean?

American football allows 11 players per team on the playing field at a time, and the 12th man refers to the fans. The presence of fans have a profound impact on how the teams perform, through noise, chanting, stomping, and cheering, making the fans an integral part as the 12th player on the team.