What's the definition of chesney?

English and French surname or given name of Norman French origin. It is derived from Old French chesnai ("oak grove"). The name first reached England following its conquest by the Normans in 1066. ... As a surname: Charles Cornwallis Chesney (1826–1876), British soldier and military writer.