How come i can't wear white after labor day?

Wearing white showed that you could afford to get out of the city and vacation elsewhere when summer ended. Since Labor Day typically represents the end of summer, a 'rule' was established that you shouldn't wear white after Labor Day if you didn't have the money to take vacations in warm places.