Is an a. k. forty seven an assault rifle?

An assault rifle is a weapon over 26″ in length with a barrel over 16″ that fires both fully and semi-automatically and uses an intermediate cartridge. Because it does not have both modes and requires action by the user between each round ejected, it is not, according to the U S A.T.F.