What causes heartworms?

Heartworms are only transmitted by the bite of an infected mosquito. In rare cases, people can get heartworms after being bitten. But because people are not a natural host for heartworms, the larvae usually migrate to the arteries of the heart and lungs and die before they become adult worms.