When was dungeons and dragons invented?

Dungeons and Dragons was created in the 1970s by founders Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson.

---

Dungeons and Dragons was created in the 1970s by founders Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson.

---

Dungeons & Dragons was created by a brace of midwestern mages named Gary and Dave, and the tale of the game's journey from a Lake Geneva basement in 1972 to the cultural institution it is today is one of the great stories of gaming. Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson are the authors.