When was dungeons and dragons invented?

Dungeons and Dragons was created in the 1970s by founders Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson.

---

Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), fantasy role-playing game (RPG), created by American game designers Ernest Gary Gygax and David Arneson in 1974 and published that year by Gygax's company, Tactical Studies Rules (TSR). The game was acquired in 1997 by Wizards of the Coast, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc.

---

Dungeons and Dragons was created in the 1970s by founders Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson.

---

Dungeons & Dragons was created by a brace of midwestern mages named Gary and Dave, and the tale of the game's journey from a Lake Geneva basement in 1972 to the cultural institution it is today is one of the great stories of gaming. Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson are the authors.