What's the definition of the word titular?

TITULAR means holding a title, or having a title, but no real power or authority. For example, a titular king is one that has the title, but doesn't actually govern the country. It refers to something or someone that has a name or title, but not the corresponding power or authority one might expect.

---

Titular, means holding or constituting a purely formal position or title without any real authority.