Why do we need fingernails?

Fingernails are essentially flat claws possessed by primates. They are one type of our body's protection. Composed of Keratin, a hardened protein, they are used for scratching, removing debris, digging, picking. Plus, color and texture changes of fingernails can signal diseases in the body.