What are the different galaxies?

There are elliptical galaxies like M87, spiral galaxies like M100, barred spirals like Andromeda and our own Milky Way, and irregular galaxies like the Greater Magellanic Cloud. Lenticular galaxies are between elliptical and spiral, with a bulge but no spiral structure.