What was the purpose of magnacarta?

The Magna Carta was a royal charter of rights agreed to by King John of England on 15 June 1215, to make peace between the unpopular king and a group of rebel barons. The political myth of the Magna Carta and its protection of ancient personal liberties has persisted into the modern era.