When did the term uncle sam first appear?

On September 7, 1813, the United States gets its nickname, Uncle Sam.

---

On September 7th 1813 United States gets its nickname, Uncle Sam. The name is linked to Samuel Wilson, a meat packer from Troy, New York, who supplied barrels of beef to the United States Army during the War of 1812.