How many ounces of cheese equals a cup?

For soft or crumbly cheeses, 1 cup is equivalent to 6 ounces. For semi-hard cheeses like cheddar, 1 cup is equivalent to 4 ounces. Finally, for un-grated hard cheeses like parmesan, 1 cup is equivalent to 3 ounces.