What does rsvp mean?

The initialism RSVP, is derived from the French phrase, Répondez s'il vous plaît, which means in English: "Respond, if you please", or, "Please respond". It is used to request confirmation that one intends to accept an invitation.

---

R S V P is short for the French phrase Répondez s'il vous plaît, which translates to "Respond, if you please". We use R S V P to ask people to accept, or decline the invitation.