What level does pichu evolve into pikachu?

Pichu is the unevolved version of Pikachu and was introduced in Generation II Pokémon games. Unlike most Pokémon, Pichu doesn't evolve based on its level. Instead, Pichu will evolve when its Friendship rating has reached 220 out of 255.