What is b. h. t. preservative?

Butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) is a chemical cousin to BHA. BHT is a chemical preservative that is used to keep foods fresh. It has antioxidant properties, which protect foods from the effects of oxygen, or simply put, from going bad. Is also listed as “generally recognized as safe.”