Where do you get a real i. d.?

To apply for a REAL ID: Make an appointment (recommended) to visit a DMV field office. Provide proof of identity (U.S. birth certificate, passport). Show a residency document. An original or certified copy of a name change document, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree, may be required.