Is red velvet the same as chocolate?

The main difference between red velvet and chocolate cake is that red velvet cakes tend to be richer and finer than chocolate cake. Red velvet cake is a type of rich chocolate-flavored sponge cake that is colored red, while a chocolate cake is simply a cake made with cocoa.