How many movies are in the resident evil series?

There are six Resident Evil movies, with a 7th scheduled for release in 2021. They are: Resident Evil, Resident Evil: Apocalypse, Resident Evil: Extinction, Resident Evil: Afterlife, Resident Evil: Retribution, Resident Evil: The Final Chapter and Resident Evil 2021.