What's the number one public university in america?

In the 2020 US News Best Colleges Rankings, UCLA is ranked #1 Public College. The University of California Los Angeles is one of the most sought after institutions of higher education in the country, receiving more than 135,000 freshmen and transfer applications for fall 2019.