Why do ostriches put their head in the sand?

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand—they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, a bird puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it really does look like the birds are burying their heads in the sand!

---

Ostriches dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, a bird puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs.

---

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the sand, they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, an ostrich puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it Only looks like they are burying their heads in the sand!