What is the largest mountain range in the eastern united states?

The Appalachian Mountains are the largest mountain range in the eastern United States running for 1,500 miles along the east coast from northern Alabama to Maine. The highest point of the Appalachians is 6,684 feet at Mount Mitchell in North Carolina.