What is an open and closed syllable?

An open syllable is a syllable with a long vowel sound where the vowel is open, meaning there is no consonant after it, such as in the words pa-per, go, or o-pen. A closed syllable has a short vowel ending in a consonant. Examples include hat, dish, or bas-ket.