What's butter beer?

Butterbeer, in Harry Potter, was a popular wizarding beverage described as tasting "a little bit like less-sickly butterscotch.” It was served at numerous locations in the wizarding world. At Universal Studios, a popular recreation is a foam-topped soft drink with a creamy butterscotch taste.