How do michelin stars work?

Michelin stars are a rating system used by the red Michelin Guide to grade restaurants on their quality. According to the Guide, 1 star signifies "a very good restaurant", 2 stars are "excellent cooking that is worth a detour", 3 stars mean "exceptional cuisine that is worth a special journey"