How to bake potatoes?

You can bake the potatoes directly on the oven rack, or you can place them a few inches apart on an aluminum foil-lined baking sheet. Bake the potatoes for 50 to 60 minutes. The potatoes are done when the skins are dry and the insides feel completely soft when pierced.