Tell me a fact about the united states flag?

The star spangled banner at Fort McHenry memorialized by Francis Scott key in the national anthem had 15 stripes, not 13. The stripes were added by the flag act of 1794 to commemorate the the admission of Vermont and Kentucky, and lasted for 23 years.