Can you grow a cherry tree from a cherry pit?

Yes indeed. Growing cherry trees from seed is not only an inexpensive way to grow a cherry tree, but it's also lots of fun and delicious! ... Cherry varieties are hardy through USDA plant hardiness zones 5-9, depending upon the type.