Where do balloons go?

When a latex helium balloon goes high towards the sky, or is at a higher altitude, the atmospheric pressure becomes less. This makes the air inside the balloon increase and thus expand. When it reaches its limit and cannot expand anymore, it actually bursts or breaks into pieces.