Why do fireflies glow in the dark?

Fireflies produce a chemical reaction inside their bodies that allows them to light up. This light production is called bioluminescence. When oxygen combines with calcium, adenosine triphosphate and the chemical luciferin in the presence of luciferase, a bioluminescent enzyme, light is produced.