How do you tell if a parakeet is a boy or a girl?

To tell the gender of the parakeets or budgies you must look at the color of their cere. Cere is the fleshy area where the beak meets the head. Generally an adult male budgie has a blue to purplish colored cere while females have a brown and crusty cere. This works on adult parakeets.