Who came up with the theory of evolution?

Thinkers since the time of the ancient Greeks have speculated on various aspects of evolutionary process. However, the person usually credited with codifying and popularizing the theory of evolution is Charles Darwin, with the publication in 1859 of his book: "On the Origin of Species".