What was psycho based on?

Psycho is based on Robert Bloch's 1959 novel of the same name, loosely inspired by the case of convicted Wisconsin murderer and grave robber Ed Gein. Both Gein, who lived only 40 miles from Bloch, and the story's protagonist Norman Bates, were solitary murderers in isolated rural locations.