How do you get a pet in minecraft?

You can tame Wolves and Ocelots, more commonly known as dogs and cats, using Bones and Fish, respectively. It may take more than one of the resource, but eventually heart graphics will appear around their head and they will follow you. Right click on them, if on PC, to tell them to stay.