What is the highest belt in martial arts?

As they progress, Karateka (Karate practitioners) advance numerically downwards through the kyu grades, so 1st kyu (or brown belt) is the highest or most advanced "student" rank. A white belt symbolizes the starting point or the beginning of the Karate journey.

---

Black belt. The levels to master depend on what type of martial arts is practiced