What happened to george weasley?

George Weasley, played by Oliver Phelps, had his left ear sliced off as a result of being hit with the SectumSempra curse in the book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows. His twin brother Fred Weasley, played by real life twin James Phelps, died later in the story as the result of an explosion.