What does p.m. mean on a license plate?

The “PM” on license plates stands for “permanent.”

---

P.m. means permanent. Rental car companies or fleet vehicles companies can choose between regular or permanent registration for the vehicle. If the company chooses a permanent registration they are issued a P.M. decal for the vehicle.