What's the largest tornado ever recorded?

A tornado in El Reno, Oklahoma, on May 31, 2013, measured 2.6 miles wide, breaking the record for the widest tornado. The most "extreme" tornado was the Tri-State Tornado, on March 18, 1925. It travelled 219 miles, traversed 3 states, and remained on the ground 3½ hours.