Did life start in africa?

Scientists don't know where on the planet life first evolved, but Africa wasn't a continent back then! The earliest evidence of life comes from fossils discovered in 3.7 billion-year-old meta-sedimentary rocks from western Greenland. These rocks would have been underwater, so life evolved in water.