What are lel gases?

L.E.L. stands for lower explosive limit. In air an explosive gas volume of less than seven percent usually won't explode because there isn't enough gas present to explode. This is followed by the U.E.L. that is around twenty two percent where there is too little oxygen left in the mix to explode.