Is vodka acidic?

As a neutral spirit, vodka should normally have a pH between 6.0 and 7.0. However, in the US, manufacturers are allowed to add citric acid to balance the taste, bringing the pH down to as low as 4.0. On the other hand, some premium vodkas claim to be slightly alkaline with a pH of around 8.