What is shira dashi?

What is shira dashi? What's Shiro Dashi? Shiro Dashi Stock is made from soy sauce and dashi stock with a light brown color and a delicate umami flavor. It's traditionally served hot or cold as soup garnished with udon noodles, tofu, clams or matsutake mushrooms.

---

Correct spelling is shiro dashi. It means “white soup stock,” which is made with dashi, white or light-colored soy sauce, mirin, salt, and sometimes with sake or sugar. It is used as a seasoning or soup base to lend that subtle yet profoundly umami flavor to Japanese dishes.