What was world war one based on?

World War 1 began after Austro-Hungarian Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie were assassinated in Sarajevo by a Bosnian Serb nationalist. Austria-Hungary later declared war on Serbia, leading to a wider conflict due to the interlocking alliances that existed in Europe at the time.